{getMailchimp} $title={MailChimp Form} $text={Subscribe to our mailing list to get the new updates.}

Fomena MP, Amoako Andrew Asiamah is 2nd deputy Speaker

Ghana’s Parliament after a long night of drama has by consensus retained Joe Osei Wusu as the 1st Deputy Speaker of Parliament.

Both NDC and NPP MPs also by consensus have settled on Amoako Andrew Asiamah, the Independent Member of Parliament for the Fomena constituency as the 2nd Deputy Speaker of the 8th Parliament.

Mr Asiamah was sacked from parliament and disowned by the NPP for going independent in the run up to the 2020 elections.

He, however, won the elections as an independent candidate convincingly and has indicated his willingness to sit with the NPP in Parliament.

The decision by the MPs came after the former MP for Nadowli-Kaleo surprisingly won the Speakership race polling 138 votes to beat incumbent Speaker, Professor Mike Oquaye.

The results sent shock waves across the aisles where NPP MPs were seated. Visibly shocked and dejected, NPP MPs who were very hopeful that their members will retain Prof. Oquaye found it hard to accept the results of the laborious voting process. 

No comments

Your comments and Encouragement are welcome