{getMailchimp} $title={MailChimp Form} $text={Subscribe to our mailing list to get the new updates.}

Portia Gabor Wins GJA 2021 Journalist of the Year – Full List Of Winners

Media General’s Portia Solomon Gabor has been adjudged the 2021 Journalist of the Year.

She received the accolade at the 26th Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Awards Night held at the Kempinski Gold Coast Hotel in Accra on Saturday, November 12, 2022.

Her feature titled ‘Beggars Paradise’ which aired on TV3 was adjudged the Best News Production for TV.

She was also adjudged the Health Journalist of the Year with her feature titled ‘Health for Wealth’.

Other winners on the night included Juliet Bawuah, Ridwan K. Osman and many others.

Below is the full list of winners.

News Reporting (Print)

Maclean Kwofi (Daily Graphic) – Covid-19 Protocol missing at Kotoka International Airport

News Reporting (Television)

Portia Gabor (TV3) –  Beggar’s Paradise

News Reporting (Radio)

Ridwan K. Osman (EIB Network)

News Reporting (Online)

Emmanuel Bonney (Graphic Online) –  Invasion of street beggars in Accra

Features (Print)

Kester Aburam Korankye (Daily Graphic) – Attaining Efficient transport system, has the BRT collapsed

Features (TV)

Peggy Ama Donkor (GTV) – Highway Robbery in the far east of the Bono East Region

Features (Radio)

Mavis Ofei Akyeampong –  Frontline workers

Features (Online)

Albert Oppong Mensah (GNA)  – COP26: Why Ghana’s still voice

Documentary (TV)

Solomon Joojo Cobinna (Joy News) – Searching for the witch hunters

Best in Democracy Reporting

Seth J. Bokpe (Fourth Estate) –  Testing the RTI Law 


Juliet Bawuah (TV3) – Rugby at the beach


Joseph Armstrong Alorgbey (TV3) – Contractor fails to hand over school block to 

Investigative Journalism

Francisca Enchill (Joy Prime / Freelance ) – Pay or die: Agony of pregnant women in hospitals 

Photo Journalism

Geoffrey Buta (Ghanaian Times) – Five-hour downpour destruction 

Business and Economics

Daryl Kwawu (Joy News) – The unemployment challenge 

Environment and Science

Godwin Asediba (GHOne TV) – Sanitation crisis in public toilets 


Portia Gabor (TV3) – Wealth for health


Richard Kwadwo Nyarko (Joy News) – When the last fish is caught

Benedicta A. Gyimah (Ghanaian Times) – Cost of pesticides


Samuel Amoh (Adom TV) – Rejected over elephantiasis – the story of Aziz Entsie


Beatrice Senaju (GBC) – Bomfobiri wildlife sanctuary, beauty in the wild

Road safety

Kester Aburam Korankye (Daily Graphic) – Indiscipline unabated, motorway without rules

Best TV/Radio Programme in Akan

Di Asa (Atinka TV) 

Best TV/Radio Programme in Ga

Obonu FM

Best TV Programme in English

Newsfile (Joy News/Joy FM)

Special Award by GJA President

James Nortey (GJA Staff at the Ghana International Press Centre)

Female Journalist of the Year

Francisca Enchill (Joy Prime / Freelance)

Komla Dumor Most Promising Journalist Award

Emmanuel Koranteng (Joy News)

GJA/PAV Ansah Journalist of the Year

Portia Gabor (TV3)



No comments

Your comments and Encouragement are welcome